Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Daily Archives: January 2, 2012

So lately I’ve had a lot of people who are trying to diet or watch what they eat ask me what kind of things I did over the last year.  I never figured myself an expert on it by any means, but I did do a lot of research about healthy eating and I think my weight loss means I must have done something right!!  Usually I can’t think too clearly of all the different things I eat and what I think about when I pick my food so I figured I would post it.  So I’ll post different meal ideas and snack ideas of things that I like, but for today I’m just going to post some things that I think are important to remember when starting to eat healthy…

  • Three meals a day are soooo necessary
  • Having 2 snacks that are in between 100 and 250 calories are great for your metabolism but also will help prevent you from going nuts at the next meal because you’re so hungry
  • Just because you’re dieting, it doesn’t mean you’re supposed to be hungry all the time and deprived of food
  • It’s not a good idea to completely eliminate things from your diet like carbs or sugar.  While they should be eaten in moderation, completely taking something out isn’t good because your body does need a little bit of everything (even fat!) and depriving yourself will eventually defeat you mentally.  When you’re completely depriving yourself all the time, it just makes you want it more.  The occasional splurge isn’t bad.
  • Diet plans are noooo good.
  • I watch calories, but I never add them up.  Calories are the number one thing that I look at and it has been a huge factor in my weight loss, but I never obsessed about counting up my daily calorie intake.  It’s also important to remember that calories= energy (and I am also working out 6 times a week).  While I watch calories a LOT, it’s even more important to look at the fat calories.
  • Drink LOTS of water
  • Eat LOTS of fruits and veggies

I’ll try to remember tomorrow to post different things I like to eat for breakfast and mid-morning snacks!!

Later 🙂


Oh the sad last day before break!  I’m trying to get a ton of stuff done but also enjoy my day!  Too bad both sisters aren’t around…Becky’s at work and it’s 12:37 so of course Casey isn’t awake yet.  I started to look at Pinterest today but it’s kinda confusing…maybe I won’t get into it.  This wouldn’t be a bad thing since I’ve heard it’s so addicting and a time-suck.  Well time to get some stuff done!! Later! 🙂